Skip to content

Malwarebytes Support Tool

Important

  • CERN does not provide licences for Malwarebytes anymore and this software is not free for use in a professional environment, see Section 2 ("(a) Malwarebytes for Home – Free & Paid.") of their EULA which states that such "license permits you to use the Software solely for your personal, non-commercial purposes; the Software may not be used on any Device that is used in a business or for business purposes.".
  • You should therefore not install Malwarebytes on any device used at CERN.
  • CERN Windows Support recommends the built-in Windows 10 antivirus software

The Malwarebytes Support Tool is a command line which is used to cleanup and remove Malwarebytes products.
This tool removes Malwarebytes Endpoint Security and Malwarebytes Endpoint Protection, including their files, settings, and license information. It is used on business environment.

To remove Malwarebytes software from a Windows endpoint, follow the instructions below, then run it from the Command Prompt.

Run the Malwarebytes Support Tool

  1. Open directly G:\applications\Malwarebytes\Cleanup or \\cern.ch\dfs\applications\Malwarebytes\Cleanup
  2. Copy mbstcmd.exe, and save it to your desktop.
  3. Open a cmd.exe command (As Administrator)
  4. In the command window, type cd %userprofile%\desktop to navigate to your desktop.
  5. If you want to run the Malwarebytes Support Tool:
    • allow it to reboot, type mbstcmd.exe /y /cleanup
    • prevent the forced reboot, type mbstcmd.exe /y /cleanup /noreboot

Command line switches

Here is a list of switches you can use to execute the Malwarebytes Support Tool:

Switch Description
/y - Accepts the EULA. Without this command you will not be able to run the tool.
/cleanup - Uninstalls all versions of Malwarebytes products it finds on the machine.
- Does not reinstall or reactivate the Malwarebytes installation.
- Generates output (mbst-clean-results.txt) to the directory where the Support Tool was run from.
- Forces a reboot to perform post-reboot cleanup.
/noreboot - Prevents the forced reboot flag after cleanup. But The reboot is required if necessary.